Happy.

Making me happy this week:

Gardenia

These gardenias from my mother-in-law’s garden.  Their perfume make me think of my beautiful grandmother.

DSCF4887

Ditto these pink roses.

DSCF4875

Some green flummery.  It looks gross, but it’s sweet and light and tastes just like my childhood.

bunting invite

I fell in love with this beautiful invitation to a twenty-first birthday party.  It’s not even mine – it’s for three of my siblings (she misspelt “Jan, Cindy and Bobby”), but that’s not the point.  Oh, those darling tiny squares of fabric!  The little line of machine stitching on the paper!  Bunting always makes me smile inside.

 

 

Four Friends

Four hand-made friends given to me my children by my very talented Aunty.

Welcome to the Family

They were very quickly welcomed into the family.

OK, I must come clean: the handmade gifts did not arrive last week – I took the last two photos months ago and have been meaning to post about them ever since.  But aren’t they lovely?  I still smile when I look at them.

What’s making you smile this week?

7 thoughts on “Happy.

  1. kw06

    I am so impressed – did you make the flummery? What has made me happy this week? The delightful gusty North wind that greeted me when I woke up this morning and reading the posts on Laptop on my Ironing board:)

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Do you remember the jelly we had at family night that wasn’t properly set? I turned the leftovers into flummery later that night. I had this moment when I licked the beater (the kids were asleep) and I was a little girl again. I had forgotten the taste of jelly and evaporated milk on cold metal beaters. It. Was. Profound.

      Reply
  2. angelphilipp

    The animals are cute! The sunshine has been making me smile this week, after a long winter it is finally warm here!

    Reply
      1. angelphilipp

        I like the autumn also, but the cold gets old! In Texas it doesn’t hang around for months at a time like it does in Michigan!

        Reply
  3. Mary Rose

    Kate, I finally took got the time to read it all. I loved it!!! It was so much fun to read. I hope you benefit from opportunity to gestalt your daily craziness. It goes by in the blink of an eye and by the time you get all wise you don’t need it as much. Love to you all! Mary

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      I thought I already wrote a reply to this but it seems to have gone missing! Thank you so much for dropping by, Aunty Mary! It means a lot to me. Love to you and yours!

      Reply

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

