Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

artwork

Oh!  I’m so excited I can hardly contain myself!  It’s almost time for Art in August, where we break out our old (or our kids’) art supplies, have a play, and post the results on our blog.  And here’s the really exciting part:  I’ve got some friends in Blog Land to play along with me!  It’s ridiculous the amount of excitement this gives me.

So far, my fellow art-alongers are:

Naturally Cathy of The Plucky Parent.  Cathy is a fellow mummy-blogger  (except she’s a ‘mommy’) who has already STARTED with an amazing coloured-pencil-on-printer-paper piece that took the length of one nap time to create (not her nap, obviously).  It’s called Indigo Violet and you can see it here.

セレネ of 可愛い国.  I will be calling this blog “Kawaii kuni”, which is the Roman alphabet equivalent of the blog’s name.  It translates to “cute country”, in reference to the Netherlands, where the blog is written, but I forgot to ask セレネ for her name (how rude of me!).  Kawaii Kuni is written in Japanese, Dutch and sometimes English too (perfect English, I might add).  The thing I love about this group art project is that it completely transcends language.   I can’t wait to see what セレネ creates!

Red Lipstick Mama is a “schizo-psychotic 30 (something) year old mum  with verbal diarrhea who is in search for cheap therapy” blogging from Harlem, New York.  Red Lipstick Mama has also started creating with an incredible denim and lace headpiece called Emily which you can see here.

M of the mmmmm family.  Actually, her name is Michaela, but I couldn’t resist.  I’m just getting to know this magical blog, but it’s a joy to read.  I suspect Michaela is as terrified as I am about this project, but that’s just why we need to do this!  Michaela signed on just last night and I did a lot of bouncing around in excitement.

and finally,

Allison Profeta of Allison Road.  Allison joined as I was writing this post.  Soooooo exciting!  Allison is so talented that she did a post for this before “Art in August” was even thought of!  In it she documents the struggle and inner turmoil of a militia of GI Joe soldier figurines trying to survive in a world they cannot control.  I hope she shares more of these!

Perhaps you might like to join us?  It’s not too late!  If you are a fellow blogger, leave me a comment at the bottom of this post and I will be sure to link to you.  If you don’t have a blog, perhaps you could share your art on the blog’s Facebook page or perhaps you could email it to me and I’ll post it for you. Matilda has already asked if she can join in and I’ll be posting some of her works as well.

I’ve already started on my first piece, I did the outlines while I was waiting to pick Matilda up from netball practice.  It’s so much fun but I wouldn’t be doing it if it weren’t for Art in August!  Hurrah!

23 thoughts on “Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

  1. redlipstickmama

    Wow, so exciting and daunting too! I have never done something like that before. What was I thinking ? 🙂 I only show things I create to DH and my friends after they had a bottle of red wine…

    Reply
  2. セレネ

    セレネ=Selene, as you can see in the url of my weblog 🙂 Though I can understand it’s not that obvious.
    (also, I don’t think my English is perfect – but thank you for your compliment ^-^)

    Reply
      1. セレネ

        Thanks 🙂 Yes, if I come across a piece of “English” text (written by a native speaker) online and I don’t understand it (too many weird abbreviations based on dialectical pronunciations or something, or no punctuation), I just skip it. And as there are many non-native English speakers on the internet as well, who might want to read what I write, I take care to at least write understandable English (even though it might not be perfect).

        Also, I’ll start on a drawing today 🙂 When I’ve finished it, I’ll make a post on my weblog linking to this one.
        I also designed some clothes for my next weekend in the Iron Age village, so I want to draw the patterns this week as well (and cut the fabric and sew them :P).

        Reply
        1. katelikestocreate Post author

          That’s incredible – make sure you take photos and do a post about those as well. I can’t always understand what some native English speakers are writing on the internet. I blame the schools!
          I went to the hairdressers last night and worked on a piece with oil pastels as I was getting my hair done.
          Thanks again for joining in – I’m having so much fun!

          Reply
      2. セレネ

        In Dutch (high) schools, obligatory languages are English (everywhere), French and German (most schools), and optional languages ((not offered at all schools) are Latin, Ancient Greek, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, and probably more. At my school, I could take Latin and Ancient Greek – the other languages weren’t offered. In Japan, they only teach one foreign language at high school: English. You can study other languages at university – one of my English teachers in Japan took a few courses on Dutch when she was at university!
        At university, depending on what you’re studying, a lot of textbooks are also in English (especially in fields like Computer Science).

        Did the hairdressers comment on your drawing 😀 ? It sounds fun, but could you move your head and draw when they were cutting your hair?

        Reply
        1. katelikestocreate Post author

          Wow, I can see how the way the world is, it’s becoming more important for people to learn English. I did most of the picture when my hair was getting dyed. The hairdresser asked about it and I clumsily tried to explain. She looked a little concerned for me when I started talking about the twelve-year-old version of myself. Some things just sound better in writing, I guess!

          Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      I’m doing one a week, but even if you want to do just one piece, you can join in. You can either link to the other bloggers playing along in your post, or simply link back to this post. I will link to you and the others in my posts. Also, you can do any sort of art – we have a photographer and textile designer on board! If you join too, my cup will be full to overflowing! Please join!

      Reply
      1. sourdoughkaty

        Okay, sign me up. I have a couple of projects I’ve been wanting to do, but haven’t had the…haha, I’m sure I don’t even need to finish that excuse. Read between the lines: I want to do things that make me feel like a human being, but I have a toddler and an infant. So, I think Art in August will help give my protects that extra push over the why-can’t-I-have-nice-things hump. 😉 I’ll link to your post later this morning. Thanks!

        Reply
        1. katelikestocreate Post author

          I understand that feeling all too well! I need this as well. I worked on a project last night as I was getting my hair done (another ‘me’ thing I’ve been putting off for too long!)

          Reply
            1. sourdoughkaty

              Yeah, Katy is short for Kathryn (hence the y in both). But I’ve gone by the former for so long that I’ll occasionally forget to respond to Kathryn in official circumstances. Lol.

  3. Pingback: Working mama: Clemence and fireflies | redlipstickmama

  4. Pingback: Sourdough Banana Bread Recipe AND Art in August. | Sourdough Lifestyle

  5. Pingback: Art in August – Descent: The Mind of the College Educated SAHM | Máthair Fiona

  6. Pingback: Art in August – Week 1 | Laptop on the Ironing Board

  7. Pingback: Art in August (Whadduya mean August is almost over??) | Sourdough Lifestyle

  8. Pingback: Art in August – Week -um- Two? | Laptop on the Ironing Board

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

