Art in August – Week 1

Here (at last) is my first entry for the Art in August challenge.  As you may know, I’m playing along with Naturally Cathy of The Plucky Parent, Selene (セレネ) of Kawaii Kuni, Red Lipstick Mama, Michaela of the mmmmm family, and Allison Profeta of Allison Road.  Make sure you have a peek at their blogs, because there’s lots of good stuff going on there.  Since my last post, we’ve had some more bloggers join the fun (!!!!!!):

  • Katy from Sourdough Lifestyle writes a delightful blog that is so much more than sourdough recipes (although they do look yummy).  I was reading Katy’s latest post before and wanted so much to be actually chatting to her.  It felt like a real conversation and I wanted to say “Oh, yes, I agree!”  and nod.  But I couldn’t, so instead I pressed the “like” button, which is like a virtual nod, I guess.   But it’s not the same.
  • Meghan from Mathair Fiona is about ready to pop with a new baby (due in three days!) but I convinced her that this project would be a good way to while away early labour.  She writes another lovely, lovely blog.  This post caught my attention recently.  I’m almost tempted to write a post or two in response to it.  There is a sensible voice in my head that says “one thing at a time, Kate”, but I can ignore it.  I love talking about home organisation and house keeping.  Much more fun than actually executing the ideas…

It’s not too late to join in!  Just leave me a comment – c’mon!  It’ll be fun!  Also, if you’ve told me you’d like to be involved and I’ve somehow overlooked you, please remind me – I didn’t mean it!

Now, on to the art!

Fifteen

Here’s an abstract piece done in oil pastels.  I call it Fifteen.  I got most of this done last week at the hairdressers.  It was sooooooooo relaxing.  The hairdresser asked me about what I was doing and I tried to tell her the whole story I wrote in Resolution.  It was around the time I was clumsily trying to describe a vision of my twelve-year-old self that I realised that some things are better written down and never spoken of again.  The hairdresser looked vaguely concerned for my mental wellbeing.

And, because it would seem these days I can’t do anything by myself (bathroom time is a spectator sport in this house).  Matilda and Christopher Robin would also like to share their contributions.

Here is Matilda’s:

Heart collage

She even signed it with her blog name!  It’s very important that I point out that the purple texta outline was Christopher Robin’s contribution and the cause of much angst at our kitchen table.

Here is Christopher Robin’s

Rainbow picture

I have a brand-new ‘Fail’ post coming soon.  I forgot to tell Harry to stop giving me such prime material – I have enough to be writing about at the moment!

20 thoughts on “Art in August – Week 1

  1. sourdoughkaty

    Thank you for the reference! I know what you mean about wanting to make a real conversation of these posts!

    I think I finally have all my materials together for a(n unexpectedly huge, lol) mixed media piece. So hopefully I’ll have something to put up in a few days!

    Reply
  2. redlipstickmama

    Thanks for the reference, too! Not only this challenge is a great way to get me out of my creative funk but it is nice to ‘meet’ fellow bloggers this way. You are such a creative family! Your Fifteen piece is quite intriguing; I like the vibrant colors, and childhood feel mixed with rawness and roughness.

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Thank you! I love playing with colour, structure and chaos. I had so much fun making it. I also love the way this shared project has introduced me to you and all these lovely bloggers, even though we live so far apart!

      Reply
  3. セレネ

    Your situation at the hairdresser does sound funny 🙂

    I’ve made a drawing already – I hope to colour it today or tomorrow 🙂 I’ve also finished the iron age shirt+skirt already and I’m going to make one or two small bags (the kind you can pull closed with a string) this evening. Maybe I’m going to make another over-dress for warmth (as I’ll be sleeping in the iron age village in September, so it might be a bit colder!), but I’m still debating which pattern I’ll use, as I found several patterns online.
    I’m going to make a post about Art in August when I’ve finished at least the first drawing and the clothes 🙂

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      I was going to write in the comments, then I figured it might work better as a post on its own. I’m going on holidays next week (up to the snow!), so that might give me an opportunity to compose some posts, if not to upload them!

      Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Don’t stress – no pressure! I know how hard it is to get everything together. It doesn’t have to be spectacular – it helped me to think of this one as my ‘starter’ post: if I didn’t get it right, I could post others later to make up for it.
      That helped to trick my perfectionist brain – I don’t know if it makes sense to you!

      Reply
  4. Jennifer

    Kate, your art has totally inspired me! However, it has also kindled envy as my time at the hairdresser is usually so short due to my extremely fine hair. I’ve often dreamed of a wild, unruly mane of thick hair tumbling down my back that takes ages for the hairdresser to cut and style etc. However, I do have some pastels so I’ll just focus on what I have rather what I don’t!

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Thanks, Jennifer! You should join in! I need to work out how to create a ‘wall’ for people to upload their art on the FB page, or else you could email me a photo and I’ll put it up…
      I used to stress about how long I spent at the hairdresser, but now I’ve discovered late-night appointments – I can relax after dinner whilst my lovely husband puts the kids to bed! Best scam ever!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Talk to Your Inner Teenager About Art in August | The Hippy Geek

    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Oh, I love it! I’ve left a comment over there as well. I’ve been a bit quiet lately because I’m having a delicious Winter holiday for a week, but I had to comment on this one! Thanks so much for joining in!

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Art in August | the mmmmm family

  7. Pingback: Art in August (Whadduya mean August is almost over??) | Sourdough Lifestyle

  8. Pingback: I’ll give you six months, you give me food in jars…. « Máthair Fiona

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

