So, I’ve been thinking…

10 Short Takes

I get stuck sometimes with blogging.  I write these long, rambling posts with far too much detail and then nothing for weeks on end.  Then, it’s like I’ve set a standard for myself to write another overly-long post.  Well, no more!  I’ve had an idea for another sort of post for those times when I don’t have an epic fail to write about and I haven’t constructed something out of wool to boast about.  I’m calling it “10 Short Takes”, a list of 10 comments or pictures on a given theme.  It will combine my love of numbered lists with the discipline of brevity.  It will also be a nice way to keep in touch without the pressure of a long post.

This doesn’t mean I won’t be writing any more painfully long posts full of tangents and asides.  I’m pretty sure I couldn’t stop that if I tried.  That’s the way I talk as well, incidentally.  I prefer not to get straight to the point.  I can spend more time in the centre of attention that way.  These short takes will be in addition to the rambly ones and (hopefully) will help to fill up the long breaks between boasts and fails and miscellaneous God-bothering.

I was also thinking this might be a nice chance to have a bit of a link-up.  If you’d like to have a go at a ’10 short takes’ post, link to me and I’ll link to you.  All you need to do is write 10 comments (or photos) on any theme of your choosing.  I’ve even been playing around learning how to make a button:

10ShortTakes

 

Ohhh!  I can’t believe that worked (after the fourteenth try, I mean)!  So if you’d like to use the button in your post, copy the text in the above grab box and paste it in your post when it’s in “Text” mode (not Visual – see those two tabs at the top?)

I’ll follow this post up with some “10 Short Takes” posts.  The ironic thing is, this whole idea got me stuck for a while (I’d written most of this post beforeSlump‘) because I wanted the first “Short Takes” to be perfect and thus I froze.  These posts will not be perfect.  But an imperfect post that’s actually published is better than a long absence whilst I chase unrealistic ideals.  It would be really strange if you were sitting at my virtual kitchen table and I only spoke when I had something profound and well-edited to say.   Blogging is not a performance, it’s a conversation.

Blogging is not a performance.   It’s a conversation.

Stay tuned.

7 thoughts on “So, I’ve been thinking…

  1. Paula

    1. Good Idea. 2. I like it. 3. Cool button. 4. Imagine if everything we said was edited? 5. Are you taking ideas for things to comment on? 6. Kittens. 7. Sorry I get distracted easily. 8. No need to feel all this pressure for frequent blog posts – readers love whatever AND whenever you churn stuff out. 9.This is fun. 10.Looking forward to the first one (no pressure though).

    Reply
  2. kw06

    Paula, love your comment.
    Laptop, always love your blogs however they are presented.
    The ’10 short takes’ sounds delightful, however I will share with you that I don’t follow how I am to go about it.
    Don’t worry though, it is no doubt just me, just look at Paula’s great reply.
    My brain has signed off for the holidays. There might need to be some excavation in there to find some remnants of brain cells before I come home.😍

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      It’s OK, kw06, the ‘join in’ component was just for other blogs, but I’m very impressed with Paula’s offering! I’m looking forward to seeing you again, but at the same time, I don’t want you’re holiday to be over – you both look so happy and relaxed in the pictures!

      Reply
  3. bdgsmcnutt

    I love this! I am new to blogging and feel the same way! I will go to blog and it feels like rambling so I delete the whole damn thing, then I will have this great thought and think I need to blog this I’ll remember, I never do.

    Reply
  4. emilyofoldmoon

    “Blogging is not a performance, It’s conversation.” -these are words I needed to read! Same goes for life…too often we get stopped doing what we love because we expect perfection from ourself rather than pure self expression. And by “we” I mean me. Love you sis!!!

    Reply

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

