Art in August 2

This week, Matilda and I did ‘Book Week’ inspired art. I was going to do a new cover for a favourite book, but I found that idea too limiting as I have very strict ideas on what characters should look like and I didn’t feel like I could improve on the original cover art. Then I got a delicious idea: I could design the cover for my book!

You see, one of WriterMummy’s Art in August posts was for cover art for her fourth novel.  I felt rather envious.  But then, I figured, rather than doing all the hard work of actually writing a novel (or, you know, four), I could skip to the fun part of choosing a cover design.  Hurrah for instant gratification!

A cover design for "Laptop on the Ironing Board: A place to procrastinate when you really should be folding washing" by Kate Moriarty

Of course, if I were to write a novel, I probably wouldn’t call it that.  But I’d put so much work into imagining I’d written a whole novel, I was too exhausted to think up a title as well. It’s a little like the way whenever anybody whistles or hums in a TV show (well, a 1980s kids’ show, anyway), they hum the show’s theme.  That’s what this is.  Inspector Gadget whistling Theme to Inspector Gadget.

It makes me smile every time I look at it.  I don’t even need to write a novel anymore!

4 thoughts on “Art in August 2

  1. kw06

    Love the cover design! Don’t think this means you don’t need to write a book though, I WANT to READ your book!! Love you, keep on creating 🙂

    Reply
  2. Amanda Martin (writermummy)

    Haha love it. I agree with the comment above, though, designing the cover is just motivation for getting the book written! I usually have a cover (or three) long before a book is finished. Visualisation I think they call it! This is a great cover: get writing 😉
    (Thanks for the shout out)

    Reply

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

