Busy Fingers #4

Baby Presents

Is it just me or is everybody having babies?  I thought I’d share some little projects I turned out recently for my fertile friends and their freshly-minted progeny.

crocheted elephant

I love this elephant.  The pattern for it is so clever that you hardly have to do any sewing together (I HATE sewing together bits.  I always do a wonky job.  It drives me crazy).

crocheted elephant

It’s all very elegantly designed (which I suppose would make it an Elegant Elephant).  And the fabric in the ears makes me swoon (even though I had to sew it).  I made it for my friends who recently had a baby girl.

Recently, I was making a set of tiny teddy bears as a get well soon present, using Lucy Ravenscar’s excellent design (I swear I’m a little obsessed with that brilliant woman and her clever patterns), and I ran out of wool before I finished one of the bears.  It struck me that this half-finished bear would make a very cute finger puppet.  And THEN I remembered the Bananas in Pyjamas that I’d made for my nephew and I thought it would be a good idea to give the bananas some teddy bears to chase on Tuesdays.  This was to make a present for my friends who had recently welcomed a baby boy into the world (and who already had two preschool girls who might also benefit from the present).

bananas and teddies finger puppets with pouch

Lucy Ravenscar’s bears and Chisachi Kushima’s elephant (as translated by Stephanie from All About Ami) are elegant patterns that are a joy to make.  Unfortunately, my pattern for banana finger puppets is a clumsy and complicated mess that brings no joy to the fingers and ends up looking rather wrong.  I’m too embarrassed by it to share it on my blog.  There must be an easier way.

I purchased a little pencil case from an entrepreneurial eleven-year-old on a market day at our homeschool co-op.  I figured it might be useful for my friends to carry the puppets around in a purse or nappy bag so that they could be on hand (sorry) to entertain their kids in waiting rooms, cafes or churches.

puppets in pouch

If I could only get a better handle on the banana component, this might be a good gift for my friends who live far away when they have babies – it would post so easily.

Oh!  And I mustn’t forget to let you know that these presents were ALL made from stash yarn.  But I did it before I took the shameful photo of my yarn mountain, so no progress made there…

Sigh!

Edited to add: The very talented Veronica from Veronica’s Miscellaney (who, incidentally, is another Australian Catholic Homeschooler who Crochets) has worked out an excellent pattern for these bananas.  She used the same method as me, but added some critical tweaks that have made all the difference.  You can view it here: http://veromarybrrr.wordpress.com/2015/04/07/bananas-in-pyjamas/

11 thoughts on “Busy Fingers #4

  1. Kyaru

    Oh, these are adorable! I love the elephant, and I haven’t though of Bananas in Pajamas in years! I really should make some finger puppets to entertain my little girl with, thanks for the inspiration ^.^

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Thanks, Kyaru! I think Bananas are bigger in Australia because they have their own TV show here! Finger puppets are a great way to use up odd scraps of wool. Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
  2. sunmoonstars134

    Oh, the teddies are so adorably, wonderfully cute! I want to make a herd. (Herd? Gaggle? Pack?) lots, anyway 🙂 thank you for sharing your work – and I love the “puppets in pencil-case” idea for on-the-go entertainment 🙂

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Thank you so much! I can’t really take credit – it’s such a great pattern and doesn’t need any sewing together. It was a great way to use up the last scraps of favourite wool
      Thanks so much for commenting!

      Reply
  3. kw06

    Your gifts are great and I’m sure your friends enjoyed receiving them. What a good idea to have the little finger puppets in the pencil case, so useful. Love your design and creativity.

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      That looks awesome! I like yours better than mine! I can see you used the same method as me for the pyjamas part, but how did you do the head – top down or neck up?

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Bananas in Pyjamas | Veronica's miscellaney

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

