On My Hook

One of the things I will be writing about in this blog is my Adventures in Crochet and this is one such post.  I thought I’d share some hooky decisions I had to make today – perhaps you could give me some advice?

Yellow Gumdrop Hat

So here’s a hat I’m making for my friend’s baby.  I found the pattern for free on Ravelry, called the Elfin Baby Set (see here).  I was very disciplined and used yarn from my ever-growing stash to make it.  I think it needs edging in a contrasting colour to make it more interesting, but not much goes with pale yellow (in my mind at least).  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

Should I choose the cream?

So this is cream coloured yarn, very classic, but a little blah.

or the rainbow?

And this is a lovely rich rainbow yarn – too overpowering?  Do you think I can get away with it?
I’m leaning towards this one, I think.

Now on to problem number two.  And it’s another baby hat.  I’m making this one for a bigger baby – I made her booties initially but made them too small and kept forgetting to give them so now it’s just embarrassing, which is why it’s so super-important that I get this hat right.  In the meantime, I hope the baby’s head doesn’t have some freak growth spurt because that would just make me cry.
This one is called Shell Stitch Beanie and the pattern is by Betsy at The Dainty Daisy.  I made this one with some gorgeous wool I got for a bargain from the Bendigo Wool Mills.  It wasn’t until I started making it, though, that I realised why I got the wool so cheap – and why it was in a bag.  Ladies and Gentlemen, the hat you see before you is the hat that remnants made:

Shell Stitch Beanie

I hope it holds together!  It has that many different bits!  Now here’s my problem.  I want to sew on a cream-coloured flower with a button in the middle and my plan was to use a wooden button (mmm…).  But it turns out there is NO wooden button in my extensive button collection (grrr…).  So here are my other options:

Which Button?

Or I suppose I could drag four children into the not-so-local haberdashery superstore to purchase a single wooden button…

What do you think?

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)