Abundance

An illustration by Annie of two happy people, arms outstretched

I have been dying to tell you this for so long. But you’re not the absolute last to know – I haven’t told Facebook yet…

A couple of months ago, I went to visit my obstetrician. I like my obstetrician: he’s a reassuring man with a deep voice who exudes calm, warmth and good humour.  He’s been helping me give birth for almost ten years now.  OK, so maybe I did the lion’s share of the work when it came to labour, but he has definitely been a good person to have in my corner.  In my mind, he’s the best baby doctor in Melbourne.  But I wouldn’t tell him that.

Anyway, I was visiting my obstetrician a couple of months ago and – well – it wasn’t a social visit (excited squeal).  I was eagerly anticipating Baby Number Five and very keen to hear that everything was in good order.  Mr Knightley was at work, but he wanted to hear the heartbeat too, so I planned to give him a call so he could listen in when the time came.

After the intial boring stuff (checking blood pressure, reading over blood tests, getting weighed on the rude scales that tell me to ‘GET OFF’ before they calculate my weight), it was time for Doc to play with his ultrasound machine. This is the best bit.  Doc squirts my belly with cold goo and examines the screen as he presses the wand thingy onto my bump.

And then he stops.

And he takes the wand thing off.

“What?”  I say.

Doc just looks at me and tries to frown.  But his eyes are twinkling.

What?!” I demand.

Doc shakes his head solemnly.  His mouth is twitching.  I wonder idly what would happen if I throttle him with the curly cable from his ultrasound machine.

“WHAT.  IS.  IT?”  I enunciate in sheer desperation.

Doc draws a deep breath.  Then he somehow manages to find three words to say.

“There are two.”

It proves impossible to continue the ultrasound for the next few minutes as I can’t stop giggling manaically.  My belly is wobbling all over the place and it makes the pictures all blurry.  Then I call Mr Knightley.

“Are you ready to hear the heartbeat, George?” (That’s Mr Knightley’s first name.  It’s only mentioned once in the whole of Emma, but it’s there if you know where to look.  And did you know that Mr Darcy’s first name is ‘Fitzwilliam’?  No wonder he’s so uptight!  But I digress…)

“Yes.” says Mr Knightley

“Erm…which one would you like to hear first?”  And then I burst into a fresh peal of giggles which makes everything impossible again.  Mr Knightley is laughing too, although I think I also hear him groan “we’re going to need a new car!”.  Doc waits patiently for me to calm down again.

Larger version of earlier illustration by Annie.  Shows caption: "The Twins"

And then I manage to lie still and the three of us listen to two perfect heartbeats.  As I lay there, watching two small babies kick their tiny legs and wave at me, I reflect on God’s sense of humour, his abundant generosity and his rather unnerving faith in me.

Christopher's illustration of me carrying two small babies

This is unpredictable, insane, terrifying, a major challenge – and yet somehow it makes perfect sense.  I can’t explain it.  I have no control at all over this situation, but that’s OK, because I feel in my heart that God does.  And relying on God is something I need to get better at.

A painting by Christopher of "Mum and the Twins"

Now, does anyone know the patron saint for procuring good-quality, second hand, 8-seat people movers?

41 thoughts on “Abundance

    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      I had a peek at the preview for that one and it’s really good. It makes me want to buy a Kindle, but I might just work out how to Kindle-app my phone and read it that way. I want to find out what happens to Helen. Can’t she SEE she’s with the wrong man?

      PS Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
  1. nicolaknits

    Congratulations! I had three, one at a time. I can’t imagine having six. Hooe all goes well with the pregnancy 🙂

    Reply
  2. irini112014

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you! This is why I like blogging, I get to be happy about the good stuff that people I’ve never met go through somewhere on the other side of the world. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Mary Rose

    Congratulations!!!!! A double blessing! I’m so happy for you. What an exciting time for your family. Love to you all.

    Reply
  4. sessaraquel

    Congratulations! Being a mother to twins is my biggest blessing in life. I’m glad to hear you laughed as well. I also found out during my ultrasound and burst into laughter. I was sure the ultrasound tech was thinking I was going to be a terrible mother, but it was a joyous laughter. I have no other children, so it’s all I know, but raising twins is so very natural-there’s nothing to worry about. One big plus is that they always keep each other entertained. There are special twin perks and drawbacks, like seeing them suck on each other’s hands, feet, and even foreheads as babies and the struggle only parents of multiple know- accidentally leaving the house with one child who’s learning to dress themselves wearing two left shoes or two right shoes, because you have shoes in twos as well. You’re going to have so much fun with your new babies!

    Reply
  5. Alma Mater

    Awesome! Congratulations!

    By the way, I recently read a blog post on a Christian blog about how the family converted their 7-passenger vehicle to an 8-passenger. I wish I could remember what blog it was, I’ve been searching all over for it for you, but to no avail. They basically took out the bucket seats and moved their back bench seat up to the middle to see if it would fit. Then they bought another back bench seat for their vehicle used online. Food for thought…

    Reply
    1. katelikestocreate Post author

      Thanks so much! It’s such a great idea, but I suspect Australian regulations will be too strict to allow those sort of modifications, which is a pity. Plus our seven-seater is already pretty squashy. But thank you so much for thinking of me!

      Reply
  6. Ciara

    Kate, I am so very, very excited and happy for you! I adore your posts, and this one is overflowing with joy and love.
    Congratulations and best wishes for your pregnancy! =)

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Odds and Ends | Laptop on the Ironing Board

Tell me what you think (comments are like Christmas)

